Whats Your Motivation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whats Your Motivation?

We all have different reasons why we lift. One of the obvious reasons is for general health. But what are some of your other reasons you lift? (ie vanity, function, etc.)

when i first started lifting back in high school, it was to look good and attract ladies because i was a chunky kid growing up.

it wasnt until two years ago i started lifting for function (because thats when i started martial arts) and stopped worrying if my pecs looked good. if i had explosive power and speed(enough to knock someone out with), then i could care less how big my biceps were. (im not knocking bodybuilding, i just have different goals than you guys

what about you guys (and gals)

personal vanity and the drive to be the best at everything sports / snowboarding , even when i wrestle with my friends or whatever i want to always be the best
    its my nature
    Owner of Fitness Paramount Personal Training

Comment

I'm afraid I have to admit I also started out with the goal of just plain looking good...but I don't think thats too big of a crime. Now don't get me wrong, to this day I still enjoy reaping the benefits of my hard work..but its not what drives me. As of late besides general health its more of the love and enjoyment I get out of it...its a hobby for me and it also relieves stress. I absolutely love challenges, and I can't think of a better challenge than myself - constantly pushing your body up to and beyond its limits...now thats a worthwhile way to spend some time.

I also like to set lots of goals, especially short term ones. I absolutely LOATHE setting a goal and not reaching it...failure it not an option. As a result I continuously find myself busting my buns a lot to avoid this.

Comment