Wardrobe Woes...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wardrobe Woes...

Okay, I'm sure everyone here as experienced this already...

I need new clothes. Most/All of the clothes I have now were from HS and beginning of college. Since then, my body has changed drastically and now I cannot wear half the things I currently own.

I'm not a big guy, 5'9" and 165 lbs, but I can already start feeling the inconvenience of shopping for clothes (primarily simple t-shirts) that have a nice fit to them on arms and chest (read: not tight or snug, relaxed) and also have a reasonable length to them (read: not 6+ inches below waist line).

I've searched cl forum and bb.com for this, and came up with a few reasonable leads after sorting through a lot of troll posts.

As a precursor, I'll say that I have no taste/knowledge/expertise of fashion and clothing, so bear with we as I try and make sense of this...

As I was going through the local mall today, I tried to remember the different brands and associate them with a certain "style."

Here are the "more popular" brands I tended to see:

A|X Armani Exchange
    Abercrombie & Fitch
    Aeropostale
    American Eagle Outfitters
    Banana Republic
    Buckle
    Eddie Bauer
    Express
    Fast Forward
    Fossil Authentic Jeans
    Gap
    Lucky Brand
    Metropark
    Old Navy
    PacSun

Now, stereotypes and bashing aside, each of these brands, I'd say has a "style" they each flaunt. In example, I see that Abercrombie tends to a tighter feel on the chest and shorter sleeves with a snug fit. This, I know, I do not want. I would prefer a slightly relaxed feel on the chest and arms, but something that is tighter around the waist and doesn't look like a dress (you know what I mean...).

I haven't been able to research all of these brands to see what works well.

Armani Exchange was recommended, which was noted to tend to a tighter pull on the core of the upper body, but their shirts cost about $100. :\