PDA

View Full Version : DB Flat Bench ROM



strester
06-19-2006, 08:31 AM
After doing some warm up stretches with plates for my rotator cuff, I started off w/ some db flat bench this morning ... I was bringing the weight down till the inside weights of the db were touching my chest, then I would explode the weight back up - just short of locking out my elbows .... great stretch on every rep, and chest feels really good and sore already ...

anybody else use this range of motion or does the majority of people stop the db's once the elbows are parallel to the bench?

bis
06-19-2006, 08:45 AM
if im going lightweight yes and i tend to hold the weight at the bottom and contract the weight up and squeeze it at the top of the motion but if im going heavy i try not to spent too much time at the bottom of the motion due to the tendency of not being able to get the weight moving again

ddawg91
06-19-2006, 09:30 AM
I use the same ROM with a pause and then explode up for heavy and light.

JDub
06-22-2006, 10:38 AM
I always touch my chest with the dumbells. I am almost up to repping 70's baby. Thats right, i am a BIG BOY!

haha

Jdub

ddawg91
06-22-2006, 01:12 PM
I always touch my chest with the dumbells. I am almost up to repping 70's baby. Thats right, i am a BIG BOY!

haha

Jdub

Hey yoru making progress so that's all that counts.

pu12en12g
06-23-2006, 01:36 AM
I always touch my chest with the dumbells.

I must go pretty wide then... my DB's can't touch my chest.. too far out.

ddawg91
06-23-2006, 01:51 AM
I must go pretty wide then... my DB's can't touch my chest.. too far out.

Do you do elbows straight out to the side?

pu12en12g
06-23-2006, 03:37 AM
Do you do elbows straight out to the side?

Nope.. not totally straight.. I think I just have long arms :heavy lifting:

ddawg91
06-23-2006, 06:37 AM
Nope.. not totally straight.. I think I just have long arms :heavy lifting:

Sounds like it then.

jiritt0
06-25-2006, 08:37 AM
whatever you do, dont click/slam the weights together at the top of the rep. never do that when you can with DBs.

strester
06-25-2006, 05:00 PM
whatever you do, dont click/slam the weights together at the top of the rep. never do that when you can with DBs.

i try to maintain control through each rep and keep them about 1" apart when I squeeze at the top

ddawg91
06-25-2006, 10:40 PM
whatever you do, dont click/slam the weights together at the top of the rep. never do that when you can with DBs.

We can't at our gym, the ends are rubber! If you touch them a little too hard together then they bounce back.

stonecoldtruth
06-25-2006, 10:44 PM
We can't at our gym, the ends are rubber! If you touch them a little too hard together then they bounce back.

I've seen a guy who was doing that on purpose, basically going from a DB bench to flyes like that, however I feel bad for his shoulders the day he fucks that up.

jiritt0
06-26-2006, 07:37 AM
yea when the click, even if its a small tap its a negative muscle shock sent thro the hands/forearms maybe even the bicep/tricep if you click them hard enough.. i see some people that practically get workouts clicking the weight at the top of the reps they click em so hard.

Trick D
06-26-2006, 10:03 AM
When I do flat bench db's they don't touch my chest either. I only only 5'8 but I have a 6'2-6'4 inch reach so there is no way they are touching my chest. I normally do barbell though for chest. I use to go all the way down to my chest with extremely heavy weight (at least for myself), but after hearing about EME screwing up his pec with moderate weight, I now try not to go all the way down to my chest on my last few sets, definitely when I am a bit fatigued. I stay about 1-2 inches above my chest and lock out.

Travis71902
06-27-2006, 07:01 PM
When I do flat bench db's they don't touch my chest either. I only only 5'8 but I have a 6'2-6'4 inch reach so there is no way they are touching my chest.


Thats a long as reach for being 5'8"...

808Djay
07-17-2006, 06:43 PM
i hate rubber db's! benching with 85-90 lbs theres no full range of motion.

Trick D
07-17-2006, 10:15 PM
Yep, it's impossible to add size to these pythons because of the reach I have. But oh well.