Incline DB Press - what angle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incline DB Press - what angle?

Usually I keep the incline to about 45 degrees and feel the strain in my shoulders (particularly the front deltoid) ... today I dropped the incline to about 30 degrees and really felt a solid pump in my chest ... i got done with my third set and could tell that my chest was worked ... more than when I have the incline a little steeper ... I think I'm going to stick to about 30 degrees from now on

so, what incline do you use and why?
    jdouchebag for president

i dont know what degree i use but i alternate between the 2nd notch up from flat to the 3rd notch up on an ajustable bench i feel i have alot more control over squeezing my chest and contracting the weight. but im a noob so im probably doing it wrong

Comment

You should use both for over all upper chest development. Working the 30 degree angle is good for upper chest and the 45 degree angle is good for the shoulder-chest tie in area.
      There will be plenty of obstacles in life, don't allow yourself to become one of them.

Click Here For My Green MAGnitude Log

Current Stats:
      Sex: Male
      Height: 5'11
      Weight: 195
      Neck: 16
      Chest: 43
      Waist: 32
      Arms: 16 1/2
      Forearm: 12
      Wrist: 7
      Thigh: 24 1/2
      Calve: 15 1/2

Comment

it should always be around 30-35 degrees
        www.elitefitsystems.com

Now with CL and all your other favorites

Comment

Originally posted by Mr. Aries
          it should always be around 30-35 degrees
          can you elaborate? this is contrary to keith's reply just above yours
          jdouchebag for president

Comment

If you go above the 30 35 degree angle more stress is brought into the front deltoids. To effectively work the upper chest the ideal angle is 30-35.

Comment

Originally posted by strester
              can you elaborate? this is contrary to keith's reply just above yours